April 24, 2024

40 Wisconsin State Parks ordered closed “until further notice.” Here’s the list.

Fellow Wisconsin road trippers, thanks to COVID-19 and now some issues with people not following social distancing and trash and supply issues, our outdoor choices are once again narrowed down for a while.

Wisconsin State Parks have been kept open during the COVID-19 pandemic – and made fee-free – as a way to help people have places to enjoy the outdoors and have room for social distancing. Apparently, between problems with trash, vandalism (c’mon people, stop that crap!), and issues with social distancing and maintaining cleaning supplies, it was announced through the Wisconsin DNR that Governor Evers has ordered 40 of Wisconsin’s state parks and recreation areas to close until further notice, starting April 10th – so it’s in full effect now. Most of them are in the southern part of the state.

Point Lookout at Wyalusing State Park

According to the order, the following State Parks in question will not re-open until further notice:

Southeast Region
Big Foot Beach State Park, Harrington Beach State Park, Havenwoods State Forest, Kohler-Andrae State Park, Kettle Moraine State Forest Lapham Peak, Loew Lake, Mukwonago River, Northern Unit, Pike Lake, Southern Unit, Lakeshore State Park, and Richard Bong State Recreational Area

South Central Region
Aztalan State Park, Belmont Mound State Park, Blue Mound State Park, Cadiz Springs State Recreational Area, Capital Springs State Recreational Area, Cross Plains State Park, Devil’s Lake State Park, Fenley State Recreational Area, Governor Dodge State Park, Governor Nelson State Park, Lake Kegonsa State Park, Lower Wisconsin Riverway, Mackenzie Center, Mirror Lake State Park, Natural Bridge State Park, Nelson Dewey State Park, New Glarus Woods State Park, Rocky Arbor State Park, Sauk Prairie State Recreational Area, Tower Hill State Park, Wyalusing State Park, Yellowstone Lake State Park, Gibraltar Rock State Natural Area, Pewits Nest State Natural Area, Parfrey’s Glen State Natural Area and Dells of The Wisconsin River State Natural Area

Northeast Region
High Cliff State Park

The good news is, most of the state parks, forests, and recreation areas in the northern parts of the state will remain open. They include:

  • Amnicon Falls
  • Brunet Island
  • Interstate
  • Kinnickinnic
  • Lake Wissota
  • Pattison
  • Straight Lake
  • Willow River
  • Chippewa Moraine
  • Brule River
  • Flambeau River
  • Governor Knowles
  • Chippewa Flowage
  • Totogatic
  • Mendard Island
  • Pike Wild River
  • Pine-Popple Wild River
  • Turtle Flambeau
  • Willow Flowage
  • Big Bay
  • Copper Culture
  • Copper Falls
  • Council Grounds
  • Governor Thompson
  • Rib Mountain
  • Menomenee River
  • Peshtigo
  • Northern Highland American Legion
  • Hartman Creek
  • Heritage Hill
  • Lost Dauphin
  • Newport
  • Peninsula
  • Potawatomi
  • Rock Island
  • Whitefish Dunes
  • Fisher Creek
  • Point Beach
  • Buckhorn
  • Merrick
  • Mill Bluff
  • Perrot
  • Roche-A-Cri
  • Wildcat Mountain
  • Black River

Hopefully the closings will be short; we’ll keep you updated right here!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *